Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Did i mention that using windows CD is not an option for me since i dont have it...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11

    help


    Did i mention that using windows CD is not an option for me since i dont have it

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okk.. download Windows 98 Bootable Floppy from www.bootdisk.com and boot up from it. execute this
    Code:
    A:\> fdisk /mbr





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6

    MBR and GRUB

    hello all,

    my story is:

    I installed Fedora Core 8 to my computer. GRUB was installed to sda, but sda (in windows drive H was just data disk (no Windows o.s. and no Linux o.s.). So i wanted to have it on hdc (both o.s. were on this disk). I used windows boot CD, repair mode and this two commands:

    fixboot h:
    fixrmb \something\something (name of this partition)

    file system was changed to SFS as you can see below. So I'm not able to get my data now from that disk. Does anybody know how to change file system back to NTFS (because NTFS file system was on this disk on the beginning (i don't mean format of partition )) and how to recover my data? My opinion is that data should be ok, the main question is how to get them from disk.

    my disks:
    root@0[~]# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hdc: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdc1 * 1 2550 20482843+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hdc2 2551 24320 174867525 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hdc5 2551 21672 153597433+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hdc6 21673 22564 7164958+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hdc7 22565 22629 522081 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdc8 22630 24320 13582926 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320071851520 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 38913 312568641 42 SFS

    I tried to look for answer for my qestion, but i wasn't successful. Thank you for your help.

    Roman

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer khafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    858
    hi,

    i dont think the filesytsem got changed to SFS. i think its just that Fedora recognizes it as one(which is a very troublesome filesystem under Linux). the filesystem is still NTFS i think.

    have you tried to mount it as an NTFS partition with "mount -t ntfs ..."?

    booting from windows also could help you backup your data since its very likely that windows wont have any problem accessing that partition.
    Linux and me it's a love story

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    hi,

    i have to say that i'm beginner in Linux. So sorry if i will have some stupid questions...
    I have tried to mount partition in Linux...

    root@0[tmp]# mount -t ntfs /dev/sda /tmp/diskh
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda,
    missing codepage or other error

    i have to say that i'm using Knoppix live distr. v. 4.. now.

    If i tried to boot to Win and tried to check disk in "disk manager" it looks like that it's not formated. So it looks like that win even don't know this file system.

  7. #16
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by RomanP View Post
    hi,

    i have to say that i'm beginner in Linux. So sorry if i will have some stupid questions...
    I have tried to mount partition in Linux...

    root@0[tmp]# mount -t ntfs /dev/sda /tmp/diskh
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda,
    you need to use /dev/sda1 rather than /dev/sda in the mount command. You also need a directory to mount the partition too. So you need to mkdir /tmp/diskh if that is where you want to mount the partition to.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    oh ok, you are right. I have to use sda1.But folder /tmp/diskh/ is created...

    root@0[diskh]# pwd
    /tmp/diskh
    root@0[diskh]# mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /tmp/diskh
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
    missing codepage or other error

    but still same problem...

  9. #18
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    You could try mount without the -t ntfs option but it probably will not mount. I'm not sure if something like the ultimate boot cd will help. I think the best you can hope for is something that will let you read data off the partition.

    I don't hold out much hope for data recovery in this instance because the Windows installer made the changes but Windows will not recognize the partition to mount it.

    How much data are you going to loose since your last backup or you can create or copy from somewhere else?

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    no, it will not help.
    I know that if it will be impossible to recovery this data, i will simply formate it.

  11. #20
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by RomanP View Post
    no, it will not help.
    I know that if it will be impossible to recovery this data, i will simply formate it.
    If you get to the point you are going to do a reformat of the partition then try booting from PartedMagic, remove the partition then try running testdisk and see if it can make any sense of the raw data on the drive unallocated space.
    Other than that I'd just be googling for a solution like you. Let us know if you find a solution.

    Ed: first google came up with this which suggests mounting of
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/hda1 /media/windows/ -t ntfs -o nls=utf8,umask=0222
    which would be
    Code:
    mount /dev/sda1 /tmp/diskh/ -t ntfs -o nls=utf8,umask=0222

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •