Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am new to linux and I am having trouble configuring Fedora Core 6 with Windows XP Pro. I have two hard drives: hda - Windows XP only hdb ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question grub.conf/menu.ls missing...

Hi,

I am new to linux and I am having trouble configuring Fedora Core 6 with Windows XP Pro.

I have two hard drives:

hda - Windows XP only
    hdb - "partly" installed FC6

Whilst installing FC6 - it asked whether I would like to install the boot loader onto hda, since I didnt want to mess up my existing windows installation i opted not to install it.

Having gone through loads of sites on dual booting I finally found a solution, or so I thought.

I did grub-install on dev/hdb. I was then going to add windows to the list of oses, i.e. update menu.ls or grub.conf, but couldnt find any of these. I looked everywhere.

I was then going to copy the boot folder over to a floppy disk and add a couple of lines to the boot.ini file in windows.

I have even tried su (root user) but still cudnt see it.

If anyone can help, or point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
    RV

Did you try booting with CD1 or the DVD to get rescue mode?
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

check /boot/grub folder.
    Code:
    ls -a /boot/grub

Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Thanks for replying guys,

I booted from the DVD.

I tried
    ls -a /boot/grub

and found nothing...

I've been staring at a prompt for nearly three days now...

I would be grateful for any help. Thanks.

post the output 'ls /boot'. is there any other file in /boot/grub folder? doest it very exist in /boot?

Casper

Just Joined!
    ls /boot shows:

System.map-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6
    config-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6
    grub
    initrd-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.img
    lost+found