Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Hey All, I got Fedora installed perfectly, no probs, yet when i go to connect - using a Linksys WMP54G - Wireless-G PCI Adapter it wont detect or get an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    38

    Linksys WMP54G - Wireless-G PCI Adapter


    Hey All,

    I got Fedora installed perfectly, no probs, yet when i go to connect - using a Linksys WMP54G - Wireless-G PCI Adapter it wont detect or get an IP address so i thought, i know i will try and bridge a connection with my laptop which is also connected via wireless, via a Ethernet cable but that to i couldn't seem to grasp ether. I know when i used Mandriva and Knoppix they both were able to pick up the my wireless card.

    Any help or advice in this situation would be most appreciated. Thanks,

    Stu

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well knoppix uses ndiswrapper and madwifi.....so I would bet you need one or the other. Type this command as root in a terminal/konsole:
    /sbin/lspci
    Post the output back here and let's see which chipset you've got.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    38
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 755 Host (rev 01)

    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SG86C202

    00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS964 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 36)

    00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE] (rev 01)

    00:02.7 Multimedia audio controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC'97 Sound Controller (rev a0)

    00:03.0 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)

    00:03.1 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)

    00:03.2 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)

    00:03.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 2.0 Controller

    00:05.0 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] RAID bus controller 180 SATA/PATA [SiS] (rev 01)

    00:0b.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)

    00:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)

    00:0d.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)

    00:0e.0 RAID bus controller: Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3112 [SATALink/SATARaid] Serial ATA Controller (rev 02)

    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration

    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map

    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller

    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control

    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    You have a broadcom 4316 and you'll need ndiswrapper to make it work. If you have a working Internet connection to your machine, you can use yum to install it.
    yum install ndiswrapper
    Other than that, you'll have to download it and compile it. See here
    http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    I've got the exact same situation as stuaz. I've used ndiswrapper and 1st installed the drivers from my CD, then I got wind of an alternate driver and tried that too. I see a failure message on my card (I'm using eth1) on startup and Network Configuration gives me "Determining IP information for eth1... failed, no link present. Check cable?"

    I haven't messed with linux since finishing grad school, 10+ years ago when wireless was exotic stuff, so consider me a newbee again...

  7. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Did you enter your connection settings? WEP key, Channel and ESSID?
    About all I can tell you is to check the documentation from the website, I don't use ndiswrapper myself.
    http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/m...roubleshooting
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by tuliniemi
    I've got the exact same situation as stuaz. I've used ndiswrapper and 1st installed the drivers from my CD, then I got wind of an alternate driver and tried that too. I see a failure message on my card (I'm using eth1) on startup and Network Configuration gives me "Determining IP information for eth1... failed, no link present. Check cable?"

    I haven't messed with linux since finishing grad school, 10+ years ago when wireless was exotic stuff, so consider me a newbee again...

    Thats the exact error i get.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by tuliniemi
    I've got the exact same situation as stuaz. I've used ndiswrapper and 1st installed the drivers from my CD, then I got wind of an alternate driver and tried that too. I see a failure message on my card (I'm using eth1) on startup and Network Configuration gives me "Determining IP information for eth1... failed, no link present. Check cable?"

    I haven't messed with linux since finishing grad school, 10+ years ago when wireless was exotic stuff, so consider me a newbee again...

    When i try to run the ndiswrapper now, it says command not found, yet i installed it to the instructions on the Website?

    How would one go about disabling 'stack size', and recomplieing and installing the kernal??

  10. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    When you login as root, are you using the su - command? (include the hyhen - )
    If not, that could be why you're getting the "command not found error".
    As far as recompiling your kernel, you can look here or download a precompiled kernel with 16K stack size from here.
    EDIT: Check here too for more info.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob
    When you login as root, are you using the su - command? (include the hyhen - )
    If not, that could be why you're getting the "command not found error".
    As far as recompiling your kernel, you can look here or download a precompiled kernel with 16K stack size from here.
    EDIT: Check here too for more info.
    I just use 'su', whats the differnece between that and 'su -' ?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •