Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
just installed FC6, again! just like b4 i cant get to a graphical display. i tried Code: system-config-display but that didnt work it just went black ad stayed black. i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! WindowsAfterBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    46

    Question Booting in Textmode cant get to a display


    just installed FC6, again! just like b4 i cant get to a graphical display. i tried
    Code:
    system-config-display
    but that didnt work it just went black ad stayed black. i tried to
    Code:
    less /etc/X11/xorg.config
    that didnt work either. i'm a noob so i'm fresh out of ideas.
    plz help

    if u give help plz post EXACTLY what i'm supposed to type. plz

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. which graphics card do you have?






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined! WindowsAfterBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    46
    i have a nvidia 7800 gtx pcie card

    i'll try the command again

  4. #4
    Just Joined! WindowsAfterBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    46
    just did the command and it worked. i see my drivers r "nv" and in the past these drivers havent worked. i've used the "versa" drivers and they have worked perfectly. how do i install the versa drivers?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    vesa drivers are generic. edit xorg.conf file and set Driver to "vesa" in Vedio Driver section.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined! WindowsAfterBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    46
    how do i find out if vesa drivers r on my FC6 install?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to edit xorg.conf file only and Xserver will load it. all video drivers are in /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers folder.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    simular problem

    I seem to be having a simular problem.........i have installed core 6 about 4 times with the same result each time.....after the last step of the install.....where i add a user name and and set up final settings.....it reboots and boot fine into the graphical setting i get the gui desktop and every thing is fine......but after i reboot for a second time... i get text boot up with the username and pass......i sign in useing root and try to startx, and i get this error....


    xauth: creating new authority file /root/ .serverauth.2183

    fatal sever error:
    Servir is already active for display 0
    if server is no longer running, remove /tmp/ .x0-lock and start again.

    xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    xlib: Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKE-1 KEY giving up
    xinit: unable to connect to X server
    xinit: no such process (errno 3): server error

    I have had one successful xstart, but not since.

  9. #9
    Just Joined! WindowsAfterBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    46
    i've never booted in GUI mode. i can only dream about what it looks like

  10. #10
    Just Joined! WindowsAfterBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    46
    Casper i loaded the "vesa" drivers but still the same issue.

    how do i install my drivers if i burned them to cd? i also think that FC6 isnt recognizing my dvd drives. i'm having alot of Linux problems plz stik with me i really need the help.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •