Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
My hardware/os setup goes: hda partition 1> windows xp install (fresh) partition 2> a fat32 data part. partition 3> backups hdc ?! (< my computer believes my second hard drive ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wits end, Minnesota
    Posts
    8

    Grub Vs. Ntldr (boot issues, help more then welcome)


    My hardware/os setup goes:

    hda
    partition 1> windows xp install (fresh)
    partition 2> a fat32 data part.
    partition 3> backups

    hdc ?! (< my computer believes my second hard drive is hdc, perhapses because its on second slave and not master?)
    partition 1> /swap file for fedora core 6
    partition 2> page file for windows xp
    partition 3> / fedora installation

    I followed a tutorial this morning on getting the ntldr to point to a grub installation and from there you can run linux, however I had issues with getting grub to load (the " Grub _ " blinking coursor issue that some other folks have reported) anyway, I reinstalled with default options (erase linux partitions and create default partitions) and I figured then I wouldn't see the ntldr menu. < angst. I was surprised to see the two options I wrote were still in place [boot windows xp pro] & [fedora 6 linux] in ntldr, windows boots fine, but now when I try to boot grub using the [fedora 6 linux] option it says:

    Cannot boot from hard drive.
    insert systemdisk and press any key to continue.

    Phew, I've been having quite a hard time trying to get xp and fedora to play nice, but I think its imperative, xp is definitely going to be my last windows os.

    Anyway, thanks so much for your time. A reinstall of fedora would be no problem, but I'd rather not reinstall xp.

    -GI

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    I don't know about ntldr, but you should be able to make the bios but grub. Then from grub, fedora should boot fine, and to make windows boot correctly do
    Code:
    # (1) Windows XP Pro
    title Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    map (hd2) (hd0)
    map (hd0) (hd2)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    where did you install GRUB? in MBR of Windows Harddisk or Fedora Harddisk?
    unplug Fedora Harddisk and boot from Windows Harddisk. does Windows Boot up?
    in case it doesn't, post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf and /boot/grub/device.map files.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wits end, Minnesota
    Posts
    8
    Thanks much to your quick replies. As of now I'm still learning my way around the terminal, so unfortunately getting the information from the config and map may take a bit longer then it might otherwise. I'll swap the boot orders and disconnect the drives individually and edit this post if and when I have anything new to share.

    Again thanks so much for your input.

    /My fathers a network admin but it never seemed like a logical idea to dual boot to him and perhaps it isn't.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    login as root in Command line and execute this.
    Code:
    less /boot/grub/grub.conf
    less /boot/grub/device.map




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wits end, Minnesota
    Posts
    8
    It doesn't seem as if the rescue linux mounted the /boot partition, also I'm not sure how to boot the os from the fedora core 6 cd


    -GI

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up from Fedora Installation CD, type 'linux rescue' at boot: prompt and hit Enter key. this will drop you at shell prompt. execute this
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    less /boot/grub/grub.conf
    less /boot/grub/device.map
    post output here.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wits end, Minnesota
    Posts
    8
    Allllright, from grub.conf:


    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to return grub after making changes to this file
    # Notice: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all your kernel and intrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd1,0)
    # kernel /vmlinux-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.18.1.2798.fc6)
    root (hd1,0)
    Kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
    initrd /initrd-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.img
    title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0.0)
    chainloader +1


    From /boot/grub/device.map:


    # this device map was generated by anaconda
    (hd0) /dev/hda

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up in linux rescue mode, after executing 'chroot' command, excute this
    Code:
    nano /boot/grub/device.map
    this command will open device.map file for editing.
    add this line in device.map file
    Code:
    (hd1)  /dev/hdc
    save file and reboot.
    if it doesn't solve the problem, post the output of 'fdisk -l' command.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wits end, Minnesota
    Posts
    8
    Didn't seem to do anything. I was supposed to add and not replace correct?

    Fdisk -l reads as follows:

    Disk /dev/hda: 160.0 GB 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 2611 20972826 7 hpfs/ntfs
    /dev/hda2 2612 19457 135315463 f w95 ext'd (lba)
    /dev/hda5 2612 19457 135315463 f w95 fat32

    Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB 40020664310 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 *512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdc1 1 13 104391 83 Linux
    /dev/hdc2 * 45 4865 38724682+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hdc5 45 929 7108731 7 hpfs/ntfs
    /dev/hdc6 4846 4865 160618+ 7 hpfs/ntfs
    /dev/hdc7 930 4845 31455238+ 8e Linux LVM



    ----------------------
    ^ hdc is set to boot?? edit* hdc2 ?!
    editedit* wooo, just got my GED in the mail!


    -GI

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •