Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hai, Is it possible 2 place a background picture in the Grub?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Naveen Kumar D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    56

    Talking Changing background of the Grub


    Hai,
    Is it possible 2 place a background picture in the Grub?
    Last edited by Redman; 02-13-2007 at 10:27 AM. Reason: icon edited

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    this is possible. There are however constraints on the file size/type that have to be used.

    Firstly the file needs to be of size 640x480.
    The file also needs to be indexed to 14 colours.
    The file needs to be saved as an "xpm" file. Something like the Gimp can do this.
    Finally you will need to gzip the xpm file.

    An example of how to do this in command line from a standard jpg file (lets say it's called splash2.jpg):

    Code:
    # convert picture.jpg -resize 640x480 -colors 14 splash2.xpm
    # gzip splash2.xpm
    # mv splash2.xpm.gz /boot/grub/
    Finally, you need to tell grub to use this splash image. Open the grub config file (usually either /boot/grub/menu.lst or /etc/grub.conf)

    Look for the part that says:

    # Splash Image
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    Note: (hd0,0) may be different on your system, also note that if you dont have a seperate /boot partition, you will need the /boot infront of the /grub.

    Edit the line to point to the new splash file.

    # Splash Image
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash2.xpm.gz
    Reboot, and you should see your nice new splash image.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Naveen Kumar D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    56

    Reply

    Thanks I will try.

  4. #4
    Just Joined! Naveen Kumar D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    56

    Thumbs up Reply

    Hey dude thanks its working.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Glad you had more luck with it than i did!! I must of been doing something wrong somewhere! I'll have another bash at it some time!
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    i cannot issue the "convert" command..
    is there any specific rpm needed?

    i am using red hat enterprise

  7. #7
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    convert should be in the imagemagick aplication which should be installable through yum on redhat...

    Code:
    yum install imagemagick
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •