Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hello guys..im snehith from Hyd india..the problem is that i had installed a new fedora core on my system..i had selected all th packages during the installation but i cant ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Quanta plus in FC6


    hello guys..im snehith from Hyd india..the problem is that i had installed a new fedora core on my system..i had selected all th packages during the installation but i cant find the quata editor in the programming section after installation.i then dwnloaded the kdewebdeveloment package and tried installing it through the configure method.Does the "make " praocess take time..its been around 20 mins and its still compiling.is there any other method in which i can get quanta on my system ? im a newbie very much interested in exploring linux so ppol who are experts kindly help...thanx and regards..

  2. #2
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    You can use YUM e.g.
    Code:
    #yum install kdewebdev
    If you use KDE, then Quanta is in Kmenu -> Development -> Web Development.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    yeah dude was just checking out the same in the ubuntu guide...anyways thanq so much..any idea as to much time wud it take for it to get installed ?

  4. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Its a binary package so it shouldn't take more than a few seconds or minutes to install.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Dude This is how it looks...

    [root@localhost ~]# yum -y install kdewebdev
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin
    Setting up Install Process
    Setting up repositories
    core 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
    extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
    updates 100% |=========================| 1.2 kB 00:00
    Reading repository metadata in from local files
    Parsing package install arguments



    do i assume that now the package is installed ? But i cant find it in my options..Do i need to reboot ?

  6. #6
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    You should have seen some confirmation if the package was installed successfully. What happens if you start Konsole and run the command "quanta".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •