Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I've installed Centos on my computer with kernell-version 2.6.9-42.ELsmp. Now I managed most things to work. But I can't configure my TV-card. I have a debian system to and there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! vadre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    38

    Question Hauppauge installation


    I've installed Centos on my computer with kernell-version 2.6.9-42.ELsmp. Now I managed most things to work. But I can't configure my TV-card. I have a debian system to and there I could get the card working. I tried a couple of tutorials and solutions but I'm afraid I'll mess up some things. Maybe some-one could help me al little further.
    I'm using Tvtime to watch but I get this error.
    Code:
    [root@localhost jasper]# tvtime
    Running tvtime 1.0.1.
    Reading configuration from /etc/tvtime/tvtime.xml
    Reading configuration from /root/.tvtime/tvtime.xml
    videoinput: Cannot open capture device /dev/video0: No such file or directory
    Thank you for using tvtime.
    This is because there are no drivers installed I guess.
    This is what I get when I type lspci
    Code:
    [root@localhost jasper]# /sbin/lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Inte rface (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Contr oller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Contr oller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Contr oller #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Contr oller #4 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Cont roller (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Brid ge (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 0 2)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) A C'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO] (rev 01)
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO] (Second ary) (rev 01)
    02:01.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture ( rev 02)
    02:01.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 02 )
    02:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
    02:03.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k Data/Fax/Voice Modem (rev 01)
    02:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq 5880 AudioPCI (rev 04)
    02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controlle r (rev 01)
    As you see, my capture devicese are recognized. Can anyone push me in the right direction?

    regards

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    11
    I just logged in, spent about half an hour typing up a relpy with some hopefully helpfull comments and a couple links, hit the preview button, and got a 'not logged in' message.
    I sure won't bother doing that again.

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by iHateRegistering
    I just logged in, spent about half an hour typing up a relpy with some hopefully helpfull comments and a couple links, hit the preview button, and got a 'not logged in' message.
    I sure won't bother doing that again.
    First, let me say sorry for the off-topic...

    I think the timeout is something like 15 minutes. If you have a really long post, it's best to put it in a text editor, then when you are ready to post you can copy/paste it into the forum for any needing formating and submission.

    At least that works pretty well for me...
    oz

  4. #4
    Just Joined! vadre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    38
    Ok, I managed to open the capture device I guess. When I open tvtime I don't have the error anymore. Now when I try to scan for channels he doesn't find them. My configuration is allright I think, because this is what I get when I verbose:
    Code:
    [root@localhost .tvtime]# tvtime -v
    Running tvtime 1.0.1.
    Reading configuration from /etc/tvtime/tvtime.xml
    Reading configuration from /root/.tvtime/tvtime.xml
    cpuinfo: CPU Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.60GHz, family 15, model 2, stepping 9.
    cpuinfo: CPU measured at 2593.946MHz.
    xcommon: Display :0.0, vendor The X.Org Foundation, vendor release 60802000
    xfullscreen: Single-head detected, pixel aspect will be calculated.
    xfullscreen: Pixel aspect ratio on the primary head is: 764/755 == 1.01.
    xfullscreen: Using the XFree86-VidModeExtension to calculate fullscreen size.
    xfullscreen: Fullscreen to 0,0 with size 1280x1024.
    xcommon: Have XTest, will use it to ping the screensaver.
    xcommon: Pixel aspect ratio 1:1.
    xcommon: Pixel aspect ratio 1:1.
    xcommon: Window manager is Metacity and is EWMH compliant.
    xcommon: You are using metacity.  Disabling aspect ratio hints
    xcommon: since most deployed versions of metacity are still broken.
    xcommon: Using EWMH state fullscreen property.
    xcommon: Using EWMH state above property.
    xcommon: Using EWMH state below property.
    xcommon: Pixel aspect ratio 1:1.
    xcommon: Displaying in a 768x576 window inside 768x576 space.
    xvoutput: Using XVIDEO adaptor 69: ATI Radeon Video Overlay.
    speedycode: Using MMXEXT optimized functions.
    station: Reading stationlist from /root/.tvtime/stationlist.xml
    videoinput: Using video4linux2 driver 'bttv', card 'BT878 video (Hauppauge (bt878))' (bus PCI:0000:02:01.0).
    videoinput: Version is 2319, capabilities 5010015.
    videoinput: Maximum input width: 924 pixels.
    tvtime: Sampling input at 720 pixels per scanline.
    xcommon: Pixel aspect ratio 1:1.
    xcommon: Displaying in a 768x576 window inside 768x576 space.
    xcommon: Received a map, marking window as visible (65).
    So I downloaded xawtv but when I open it I got this output:
    Code:
    [root@localhost .tvtime]# xawtv
    This is xawtv-3.94, running on Linux/i686 (2.6.9-42.ELsmp)
    load_codec_info_from_plugin: dlopen failed for /usr/lib/libquicktime/lqt_ffmpeg.so: /usr/lib/libquicktime/lqt_ffmpeg.so: undefined symbol: avcodec_init
    Segmentation fault
    I think that I'm not far away anymore, but I'm stuck. Can anyone help me?

    regards

  5. #5
    Just Joined! vadre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    38
    I've searched for about 5 hours now to make xawtv work and i'm about to give up. I don't get it. When I installed debian I didn't need to do anything. It just worked. If I can't get this working I think I have to go back to another debian-like distribution.

    regards

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,879
    Debian does have an enormous package base. I use my Hauppauge card (although a DVB-T card, not an analogue one like yours) from FC6 with kaffeine, and it needed nothing else.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  7. #7
    Just Joined! vadre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    38
    I discovered when I try to install VLC or Kaffeine. I get this error
    Code:
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error: Missing Dependency: libFLAC.so.7 is needed by package xine-lib
    Error: Missing Dependency: libstdc++.so.6(GLIBCXX_3.4.6) is needed by package libcdio
    Error: Missing Dependency: libcdio.so.6(CDIO_6) is needed by package xine-lib
    Error: Missing Dependency: libcdio.so.6 is needed by package xine-lib
    Error: Missing Dependency: libstdc++.so.6(GLIBCXX_3.4.4) is needed by package libcdio
    Error: Missing Dependency: libiso9660.so.4 is needed by package xine-lib
    I think I'm just missing some required libs or anything else but I don't find them. I even downloaded libstdc++ from a rpm-site and I had nothing but errors.
    I also tried to boot form a knoppix-live-cd and my tv-card works. So the problem lies defenitly by Centos. Maybe I should download Fedora core 6 and just format again.
    Actually I have debian on my laptop and I use it for programming and other technical issues and that's great, but I wanted a nice desktop distribution to manage pictures, videos, (ntfs-support ) like windows because my girlfriend is not that familiar with the command line syntax , but i'm trying to step of windows because it drives me crazy sometimes.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,879
    Ahhh, CentOS is very much a server installation. It's a rebadge of RedHat Enterprise Linux. For desktop use you're much better off with one of the other distributions you mentioned. Fedora Core 6 I use myself and I like it a lot, but you may want to try Ubuntu or Debian, or Gentoo, or any of the others.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •