Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
installed fc4 lvm ext3 file system it took full drive 20mb can i resize it to 5mb??? if so how??...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    fc4 and ext3 file system


    installed fc4 lvm ext3 file system it took full drive 20mb

    can i resize it to 5mb???

    if so how??

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Please try to use complete sentences as far as possible. (The days of telegrams are over).

    Back to buissness, as far as I could understand you have installed FC4 on an ext3 partition using only 20MB (that is next to impossible, so obviously I am wrong).

    In general it is not advisable to resize your partitions but yes you can do it. You might want to use Partition magic but it costs a lot and I do not *recommend* using gparted or qtparted, I have had horrible experiences with them.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,740
    installed fc4 lvm ext3 file system it took full drive 20mb
    can i resize it to 5mb???
    if so how??
    i think its a typo. 20GB? AFAIK, its not possible to shrink LVM. you can add more space (volgroups) but can't shrink LVM.
    i would be glad if someone prove me wrong.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    yep it was to have been 20GB

    Opps.

    It's to bad i didn't see or overlooked in the install to limit the drive space to 5GB. So it took the entire drive!!!!

    Don't think auto format asked me this question? >>>>>>>>>>>

    Also I thought that in the day of sms text messages shorthand that sentences were dead!!

    Opps again.

    Guess I'll reinstall OS...>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    NOTE PLEASE === I have partition magic 8.0. It sees ext3 slices but will not move,fix or repair anything.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    157
    Following article implies you can do it. However, I would say do more googling, research, proceed with care and at your own risk.

    http://www.netadmintools.com/art367.html

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,740
    Quote Originally Posted by l8forwork
    I have partition magic 8.0. It sees ext3 slices but will not move,fix or repair anything.
    i would suggest you to use GParted LiveCD instead of Partition Magic. its one of the Best Partition Manager.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    resize lvm

    Ok went to: http://www.netadmintools.com/art367.html

    found 6 articles on lvm --- hard copied three of them
    There are six articles in this series:
    Setting Up Logical Volume Manager
    Extending a Logical Volume
    Shrinking a Logical Volume With LVM
    Adding a RAID1 Device to a Volume With LVM
    Upgrading LVM To Version 2 and Patching The Linux Kernel
    Finish Conversion And Expansion to Two RAID1 Devices With LVM

    lvmdiskscan -- prints out a nice display of devices
    vgdisplay -- prints info on my volgroup and that its lvm2

    It tells me my vol is ---VolGroup00
    df lists my drive hda2 has the physical volume

    [root@localhost]# df
    Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
    18219452 3160060 14118952 19% /
    /dev/hda1 101086 9951 85916 11% /boot
    /dev/shm 257660 0 257660 0% /dev/shm
    [root@localhost]#

    [root@localhost ~]# lvmdiskscan
    /dev/hda1 [ 101.94 MB]
    /dev/hda2 [ 18.98 GB] LVM physical volume
    /dev/hdb2 [ 33.45 GB]
    /dev/hdb5 [ 39.17 GB]
    /dev/hdb6 [ 18.71 GB]
    /dev/hdb7 [ 20.45 GB]
    0 disks
    5 partitions
    0 LVM physical volume whole disks
    1 LVM physical volume
    [root@localhost ~]#

    [root@localhost ~]# vgdisplay
    --- Volume group ---
    VG Name VolGroup00
    System ID
    Format lvm2
    Metadata Areas 1
    Metadata Sequence No 3
    VG Access read/write
    VG Status resizable
    MAX LV 0
    Cur LV 2
    Open LV 2
    Max PV 0
    Cur PV 1
    Act PV 1
    VG Size 18.97 GB
    PE Size 32.00 MB
    Total PE 607
    Alloc PE / Size 606 / 18.94 GB
    Free PE / Size 1 / 32.00 MB
    VG UUID LkKvT0-blmT-seGb-Zpn1-1x4H-UXbw-3yKe4L

    [root@localhost ~]#

    [root@localhost ~]# pvscan
    PV /dev/hda2 VG VolGroup00 lvm2 [18.97 GB / 32.00 MB free]
    Total: 1 [18.97 GB] / in use: 1 [18.97 GB] / in no VG: 0 [0 ]
    [root@localhost ~]#


    e2fsck -f /dev/VolGroup00 ..... FAILED to print
    resize2fs /dev/hda2 10000 ......FAILED

    In doing more reading (MAN PAGES) it says file system should (NOT MUST BE) unmounted

    lvreduce found command in man pages but need lv path??

    How do i unmount the file system that it wants stopped????
    should i be working in rescue mode or from live cd



    THIS all reminds my of the days of RADIO SHACK model ii with the first 5 1/4 drives
    what a learning curve.. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    lvreduce

    ok all......... man pages says...... example:
    lvreduce -l -3 vg00/vol1 reduces the size of logical volume lvol1 in volume group vg00 by 3 logical extents


    per my previous notes info what do i need???

    want to remove 2/3 of volume which is 18.9? gb

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    157
    From what I can understand, you will need to give lvreduce the name of your logical volume. This will probably be something like /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 or something similar.

    But am not sure if you can do it if your system's root partition is on this volume. In that case, try booting from Fedora CD, in rescue mode , make sure your root partition is not mounted and try resizing the partition from there.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    i give

    rescue mode does support lvm file commands but couldn't get the name or path entered right

    dumped the file system and started over>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.


    to bad the man man pages are so lacking in examples!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •