Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi all! i created a dual boot with fedora core 3 and windows xp prof sp2, installing the two os on different partitions, (win xp on fat32) installing windows first. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Fedora Core 3/Win XP dual boot startup problem

hi all! i created a dual boot with fedora core 3 and windows xp prof sp2, installing the two os on different partitions, (win xp on fat32) installing windows first. Now i'm facing problem at startup when after switching-on the system, after bios screen, there comes grub prompt. i'm new to linux/fedora, so no way out situation for me now. i tried booting/rebooting, but results same. with cd-rom reboot the screen gpes black and thats it........

what is probably the problem....how should i proceed.

Note: i have run the fedora twice after successful install, then i changed my monitor and the above situation was faced.

Just Joined!
    I'm kind of a linux newb but if you get a console log in as root and type system-config-display --reconfig
    Hope this helps
    FriedChips

hi sehgal !

Welcome to the LinuxForums.

Quote Originally Posted by sehgal
    Note: i have run the fedora twice after successful install, then i changed my monitor and the above situation was faced.
    in GRUB screen, select Fedora title and press 'e'. select 'kernel' line, press 'e' again and add <space> 3 at the end of line. press 'Enter' key and press 'b' to boot up. this will drop you on command line login prompt. log in as root and execute this
    Code:
     system-config-display
    configure display and resolutions again. execute 'startx' to check GUI.

Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Fedora Core 3/Win XP dual boot startup problem

Hi Sir!!!