Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im new to linux . Im using 2.6.19 version. I tried compiling Linux version 2.6.18.2 from the following page http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_fedora_p2 . But after the Compilation was done i tried ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

After compiling Fedora 2.6.18.2 and rebooting getting an error message

Hi im new to linux . Im using 2.6.19 version. I tried compiling Linux version 2.6.18.2 from the following page
    http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_fedora_p2.

But after the Compilation was done i tried rebooting the PC and when i chose Fedora core 2.6.18.2 i got the following error messages :

Unable to access resume device
    mount - could not find filesystem /dev/root
    moving /dev failed : no such filesystem
    setup root : error mounting /proc : no such filesystem
    setup root : error mounting /sys : no such filesystem
    switch root : mount failed : no such file or directory
    Kernel panic : not syncing : Attempting to kill init

Kindly help me out. Thanks in advance.

You definetly did something wrong but I am not sure what. I think you might have left out the option for filesystem support, when you recompiled your kernel. Do you remember which options you changed? Did you build things as modules instead of into the kernel?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!

The Build link in 2.6.18.2 is broken