Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Im pretty new to Linux and was wondering if my server is really running on both cpu's. (think its should since the kernel is SMP..) OS: Fedora Core 6 System: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    FC 6 using both cpu's?


    Im pretty new to Linux and was wondering if my server is really running on both cpu's. (think its should since the kernel is SMP..)

    OS: Fedora Core 6
    System: Dual Xeon 2.8

    Output from uname -a:

    Linux localhost 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 #1 SMP Mon Oct 16 14:39:22 EDT 2006 x86_64 x86 _64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

    Output from TOP:

    top - 10:41:15 up 1 day, 1:13, 2 users, load average: 0.20, 0.18, 0.10
    Tasks: 95 total, 1 running, 94 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 0.7%us, 0.5%sy, 0.0%ni, 98.8%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 1538280k total, 1219372k used, 318908k free, 158348k buffers
    Swap: 2031608k total, 0k used, 2031608k free, 699492k cached

    Should'nt I see more CPU's or does top only show you the total load of all processors?

    Is there any other way/program that can display this better? The server runs 1 CS Source server (32 players) and I would also like to see weather HLDS load is distributed over the 2 CPU's (even though HLDS isn't capable of using two CPU's).

    Cheers

    /Micke

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    609
    Run the graphical process-manager.

    It wil show you graphically the load on both cpu's.
    Of course you will need to make sure you are using a SMP kernel!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thx Redman.

    Please forgive my "noobishness" but how do I:

    A) Find out if my kernel is an SMP kernel?
    B) Whats the name/command for the graphical process-manager?

    Many thanks for your reply.

    /Micke

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    according to the output of 'uname' that you had posted, you are using SMP kernel only.
    for graphical process manager, execute this
    Code:
    gnome-system-monitor
    OR look in Menu for entry 'System Monitor'.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •