Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I have tried several different Installations. I have even downloaded new disks. Every time I install fedora everything goes fine until it reboots. After reboot it goes strait to grub(no ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12

    Installing Fedora5 (new hard drive)


    I have tried several different Installations. I have even downloaded new disks. Every time I install fedora everything goes fine until it reboots. After reboot it goes strait to grub(no errors).

    I had the same operating system working a week ago. But my hard drive burned out. So I bought a western digital 80 gig.

    I used default settings, Workstation install.

    At grub I try the "root (hd0,0)" command
    I get error 21: selected disk does not exist.

    I'm shore you guys need more information just let me know, Thanks a lot for any help.
    ps. Yes I have googled myself to death

  2. #2
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    Any reason you didn't upgrade to Fedora Core 6?
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12
    fedora core 5 worked, so i stuck with it. I may upgrade later on. After its been out a while.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    It's been out for about eight months.
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12
    do you think that would be a fix (new hard drive not supported by fc5?)

  7. #6
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew.Mallicoat
    do you think that would be a fix (new hard drive not supported by fc5?)
    It's a possibility. Unlikely though. It is always a good idea to upgrade to the latest stable release of an operating system.
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12
    I only got 2 cd blanks left. Can I install 6 with disk one and disk two. Just basic install with GUI Gnome or KDE.

  9. #8
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    Not sure. Casper probably knows though.
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    12
    well i'm off to the computer store to get more cds, while downloading fc6. any suggestions on why this new hard drive will install but not boot Linux. maybe a different distribution.

  11. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    You only need to burn CD 1, keep the other ISO's on your HD and do a local hard drive install from the boot prompt.
    EDIT: Did you install GRUB to the MBR of the first drive?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •