Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Until about 24 hours ago I was running Fedora Core 6 and Windows 2000 SP4 on my Compaq Presario R4000 laptop. I've been trying to recompile my kernel to get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5

    I broke GRUB


    Until about 24 hours ago I was running Fedora Core 6 and Windows 2000 SP4 on my Compaq Presario R4000 laptop.

    I've been trying to recompile my kernel to get my wireless card working. I went into /boot and removed yet another botched kernel. The next time I tried to boot I realized something had done wrong because GRUB could no longer boot Fedora (but it could boot Win2k just fine).

    I tried reinstalling Fedora but it would abort with something like "Attempted to install packages that are older than you ones you already have so I'm aborting" or it would run successfully but say that since no new kernel was added that the boot loader wasn't going to be reconfigured.

    Then I did something really stupid. During one of the reinstall attempts I had it reformat hda2 (/boot). That was one of the times that it decided to abort the installation.

    I rebooted into Linux Rescue and installed kernel-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6.x86_64.rpm and then ran 'grub-install /dev/hda'. That seems to have given me back everything except splash.xpm.gz and grub.conf. I was able to download and install splash.xpm.gz and have tried to rebuild grub.conf but on boot-up I always get a grub prompt instead of a menu.

    I am a re-noob. I used Linux for years on my desktop but got my first laptop in 2002. Until recently I was unable to get any distro working on any laptop (except my wife's Fujitsu Lifebook A1010) and I haven't used my desktop in more than 4 years so my Linux skills are very, very rusty and some of the tools I'm used to are no longer included. Please bear with me as I get re-educated.

    Here's what I think is the pertinent system info. If you need something else please let me know.

    ** grub.conf **
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

    title Fedora Core
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.4.22-1.2174.fc6.img

    title Windoze
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    ** partitions **
    /dev/hda1 51207MB Windows
    /dev/hda2 102MB /boot
    /dev/hda3 25007MB Linux LVM
    VolGroup00
    LogVol01 1248MB swap
    LogVol00 23712MB /

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi fewilcox,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    what files are in /boot/grub folder right now?
    whats the output of 'find /boot/grub/stage1' command?






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    I have a similar problem
    I had Fedora Core 5 running on my Thinkpad R52 until 6 hrs. ago
    I had left the syatem on So it hibernated.I came back and foolishly switched the power off. Now when I switched it on again and try to boot the FC% SMP kernel, the boot up started The GUI came up, and then while startup was proceeding, it hung for more than hour after printing out these messages

    ................
    ..................
    Mounting local filesystems [OK]
    ....local disk-quotas [Ok]


    I also noticed that it said before all this
    /; Superblock last wite time is in future.FIXED
    /; clean a/b c/d
    here a,b,c,d,were large integers, but what looked peculiar was that though c was less than d, a was Larger than b.

    If any other information is required I am prepared to give it.

    Thank you very much.
    P.S. I have the fc6 kernels also
    I tried them but they also failed in the same manner.
    However, I could boot Windows XP

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanx for the reply and sorry for the delay. I don't have Internet at home so I can only check this at friends' houses.

    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    hi fewilcox,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    what files are in /boot/grub folder right now?
    device.map
    e2fs_stage1_5
    fat_stage1_5
    ffs_stage1_5
    iso9660_stage1_5
    jfs_stage1_5
    minix_stage1_5
    reiserfs_stage1_5
    splash.xpm.gz
    stage1
    stage2
    ufs2_stage1_5
    vstafs_stage1_5
    xfs_stage1_5

    whats the output of 'find /boot/grub/stage1' command?
    /boot/grub/stage1

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up from Fedora installation CD/DVD, type 'linux rescue' at boot: prompt.
    this will drop you at shell prompt. execute 'fsck' on all partitions.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5
    Here is the output I received:

    ** fsck /dev/hda1 (Win2k) **

    There are differences between boot sector and its backup.
    Differences: (offset: original/backup)
    379:00/0d, 380:00/0a, 388:00/73

    <additional entries snipped for brevity>

    505:ac/7b, 506:bf/8e, 507:cc/9b
    1) Copy original to backup
    2) Copy backup to original
    3) No action
    ?


    ** fsck /dev/hda2 (/boot) **

    /dev/hda2 is mounted

    WARNING!! Running e2fsck on a mounted filesystem may cause SEVERE filesystem damage.

    Do you really want to continue (y/n)?


    ** fsck /dev/hda3 (LVM) **

    fsck.ext2: Device or resource busy while trying to open /dev/hda3
    Filesystem mounted or opened exclusively by another program?


    ** fsck /dev/hda4 also hda5 and hda6 **

    fsck.ext2: No such device or address while trying to open /dev/hda6
    Possibly non-existent or swap device?

    ------------------------------

    I did this both with and without first issuing 'chroot /mnt/sysimage'. The only difference in output was that without the chroot it complained about not being able to find /etc/fstab which isn't surprising.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5
    I'm not sure how to answer the questions fsck asked me for hda1 and hda2...

    I'm rather nervous about losing either root (LogVol00) or Windows (hda1) since I don't have recent backups of either one and they contain irreplaceable data (but all of my data except the files I modified the day i screwed up /boot are backed up onto hda2 so I only lose one day's work if my root partition fails).

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5
    ** fsck /dev/hda1 (Win2k) **

    There are differences between boot sector and its backup.
    Differences: (offset: original/backup)
    379:00/0d, 380:00/0a, 388:00/73

    <additional entries snipped for brevity>

    505:ac/7b, 506:bf/8e, 507:cc/9b
    1) Copy original to backup
    2) Copy backup to original
    3) No action
    ?

    --

    I selected '2' and after a long pause it says:

    Leaving file system unchanged.
    /dev/hda1: 36990 files, 8051742/13083474 clusters

    If I select '1' the same thing happens.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    ** fsck /dev/hda2 (/boot) **

    /dev/hda2 is mounted

    WARNING!! Running e2fsck on a mounted filesystem may cause SEVERE filesystem damage.

    Do you really want to continue (y/n)?

    --

    I select 'y' and it says:

    /boot: recovering journal
    /boot: clean, 33/26208 files, 14571/104420 blocks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •