Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm relatively new to Linux and I'm not sure if this is a common problem or if someone has delt with a problem like this before. I'm trying to get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

fedora core 1 drive instability

I'm relatively new to Linux and I'm not sure if this is a common problem or if someone has delt with a problem like this before. I'm trying to get an external firewire drive up and running. I've set up the hardware fine I think, hotplug ieee1394 is loading the module (sbp2) just fine and my fstab entry mounts the drive also giving it a umask of 0 and rw permissions.

As well as this works I'm getting errors saying the file system is not writable at times but not consistantly, I can make files for a little while, but eventually I start getting Read-Only errors. Also I've had problems unmounting the drive with errors saying the device is busy, but I'm almost certain that nothing is accessing the drive. I've had problems with unmounting cd's before (getting the same busy error) but it's not nearly as annoying as this (I need to be able to write to this drive and remove it regularly). H

onestly the fact that sometimes this drive works and sometimes it doesn't seems strange and that the permissions are all 777 but I sometimes get a "read only" error is a little troubling. Since I have the same problem with the unmounting cd's at times I'm thinking that it's not a defective drive (I hope).

If anyone has ever run into the same problem or has any idea what this could be I'd appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance
    - flip

Just Joined!

zombie found

well I figured out why I can't unmount the drive ocasionally ... a program that was accessing it went unresponsive and became a zombie (Z in ps aux) and I can't kill it!!!

One problem down

Unreliable CD/Zip Drives