Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I just installed Fedora Core 6 but the sound is not working. The soundcard detection found: Vendor : Intel Corporation Model : 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller Module : snd ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    29

    No audio


    I just installed Fedora Core 6 but the sound is not working. The soundcard detection found:
    Vendor: Intel Corporation
    Model: 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller
    Module: snd - intel 8x0

    I do have FC 6 running from an external hard drive. Is that the problem?

  2. #2
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Did you try running the soundcard configuration tool again since the initial installation? Also try running
    Code:
    #modprobe snd_intel8x0

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    29
    I tried redetecting the soundcard and it didn't work. I also tried:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# #modprobe snd_intel8x0
    [root@localhost ~]#
    and as you can see nothing happened, what should I do next? Please help. No sound sucks.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    The output from modprobe is right. Nothing happens when the module is successfully loaded. When you modprobe the module, you then need to try and play sound or reconfigure the card using system-config-soundcard.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by skotwarr
    I tried redetecting the soundcard and it didn't work. I also tried:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# #modprobe snd_intel8x0
    [root@localhost ~]#
    and as you can see nothing happened, what should I do next? Please help. No sound sucks.
    Uh oh! Looks like you have executed with the # sign in front of the modprobe command. The # is also the comment sign in the shell. So your command did not execute if you did in fact do that. Try just:

    Code:
    modprobe snd_intel8x0

  7. #6
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Quote Originally Posted by nikunjb
    Uh oh! Looks like you have executed with the # sign in front of the modprobe command. The # is also the comment sign in the shell. So your command did not execute if you did in fact do that. Try just:

    Code:
    modprobe snd_intel8x0
    You are right there. Still there should be no output when modprobe is run successfully.


    skotwarr, when discussing about Linux and someone puts a # sign in front of a command, you are not supposed to enter the # sign. Its just there to show you that you need to be root. If the prompt is a $, then it means execute the command as a normal user.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16
    I'm having a similar problem on a friend's PC, its using an Intel HDA (SigmaTel) card, which I've never done before, maybe theres an internal mute?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •