Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am a Linux newbie, I've just installed Fedora Core 5 on one of the partitions on my hard drive, but I haven't installed the GRUB loader. I wanted ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to make windows boot loader detect Fedora

Hi,

I am a Linux newbie, I've just installed Fedora Core 5 on one of the partitions on my hard drive, but I haven't installed the GRUB loader.

I wanted to keep the windows boot loader because I have only the first 3 CDs of Fedora. If I choose to install the GRUB loader it asks for the 4th CD.

After I installed Fedora using only the first 2 CDs, it asked me to reboot the computer which I did, but windows boot loader didn't show up. I want to ask how to make windows detect Fedora? Could I do it just by editing boot.ini in some manner?

(I do not have a working Floppy drive.)

Thanks.

Hi Vibubhav,

Welcome to the LinuxForums.

if you want to use Windows Boot Loader, GRUB must be installed in the 'boot sector' of /boot partition of Fedora. you have to create an image of boot sector, save it in C: drive of Windows and edit boot.ini file after that.
    After I installed Fedora using only the first 2 CDs, it asked me to reboot the computer which I did, but windows boot loader didn't show up
    what does your machine display at startup now? is it booting Fedora or Windows?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Hi, thanks.

It boots in Windows now.

So I think I need to download all CDs of Fedora and install the GRUB loader also, and then let it handle the booting process?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close