Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all, I am new to the kernel stuff and I had to load the RTC module support for the kernel 2.6.9-42.0.2.EL. After doing make and make modules_install , the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Reg. Loading older kernel

Hi all,
    I am new to the kernel stuff and I had to load the RTC module support for the kernel 2.6.9-42.0.2.EL. After doing make and make modules_install , the PC 's ethernet interface is now not coming up. infact the device eth0 is not there in the ifconfig. Only the loop back address is present. also now I cant see any modules under the /lib/modules/`kernel-version`. So if i try to load the ethernet module 8139too.ko with modprobe or do a depmod, it gives error that this module is not found.

I dont know how to bring the PC out of this state without losing the current applications. When the changes were made to the .config when I did make menuconfig, is it possible that the system would have saved a copy of the old config file? because I see a config file by name .config.old under the persently loaded kernel in the /usr/src/. If it is so, is it possible to revert to the old configuration? Please let me know how this can be done.......

Also, there is another kernel version called 2.6.9-34.EL or something under /usr/src/kernels. If the .config.old does not work, can I change the kernel version to 2.6.9-34.EL? If so please provide me any important info and the steps to do so.

Finally I read somewhere that we can recover the current kernel from /boot directory. How is this possible.
    Thanks in advance for all the help,
    Awaiting your reply,
    Padmaja

Please paste the output of the following here:

1. Do
    cat /etc/grub.conf
    ls /lib/modules
    uname -r
    ls /boot
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM

Just Joined!