Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey all, I was referred here by a friend because: a. I am new to linux and really want to learn how to properly learn it. b. Apparently you guys ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

FC2 Install HELL!

Hey all,

I was referred here by a friend because:
    a. I am new to linux and really want to learn how to properly learn it.
    b. Apparently you guys really know what your talking about

My Problem
    My main rig seems to hate Linux... Right back to Red Hat 9 it refuses to recognise the install media, but with Fedora Core 2 I have a new problem.

When I boot, the CD reads and I get to the FC2 install menu. Whatever I do next, will crash the install and restart the Computer:
    <ENTER>
    LINUX IDE=NOACPI <ENTER>
    LINUX NOPROBE <ENTER>
    LINUX TEXT <ENTER>

All crash when loading initrd.img

LINUX MEM=512 NOPROBE <ENTER>

Crashes while expanding kernel.

I can at no stage get to the GUI install!

I thought I may have a weird Hardware conflict so I removed:
    My CD-RW
    My Second HDD
    My Soundblaster
    My Digi TV Card
    Leaving only my motherboard (ASUS P4P800), P4 2.4Ghz C, SATA Hard Disk (WD Raptor), ATI 9600Pro, Memory (Corsair TwinX) and DVD-RW (Brand New NEC) in and no change.

I then proceeded to use the Linux mem tester and the Microsoft Mem tester. Both reported that my memory had absolutly no errors

I then disabled EVERYTHING on my ASUS P4P800: no lan, no serial, no parrallel, no usb, no HT, no PAT, no overclocking, no FDD, no Power management... I even underclocked the CPU and memory.

All my hardware has the latest Firmware, every cable works fine, there are no errors with Windows!

And still it crashes!! The media has been MD5 checked and has sucessfully installed on two other systems!!! Please someone... Anyone help me! Before I have to run back to Bill [/b]