Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Greetings, Hi all! I am a newbie to Linux (RH) and was trying to use Apache as the webserver. I was able to start Apache and build http connections with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Apache Services

Greetings,

Hi all! I am a newbie to Linux (RH) and was trying to use Apache as the webserver. I was able to start Apache and build http connections with localhost only. Any other client access to Apache web services response a failure (no http service). I have checked .conf file and it shows a listening port of 80 enabled with no prescribing IP address.

I do not have any clue on this! Could somebody give me some hints for this ? Many thanks in advance!

Best regards

eprom

What about /

Did you try using the IP address, are you on the same network or are you trying to access the server from the WAN.

I'm not sure what your problem is, but have you checked to make sure port 80 is open in your firewall?
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

So ?

Is the server for a LAN or a WAN.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for all your replies! The machine of Apache and Accessing client are on 2 separate networks! I have tried to use IIS to act as the web server instead of Apache and its works!

So I think the problem might be I have missing something with the Apache's settings. Somebody has suggested that I should enable the firewall also! Could you please give me some more details on that ? Thanks

Best regards

eprom

Let me understand. You can access the server from inside the network with localhost, but you can't access it from outside the network?