Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
I can't get my wireless internet card to work. Can someone walk me step by step on how to activate it in Fedora Core 7 and get it to connect ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    97

    Getting My Wireless internet to work... Fedora 7


    I can't get my wireless internet card to work. Can someone walk me step by step on how to activate it in Fedora Core 7 and get it to connect to my router? Lastly, i need help setting up my printer.

  2. #2
    Linux User Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gloucestershire and Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    283
    I dont know about any graphical methods in Fedora, as I've never used it... But I'd suggest the first thing to do is to pop open a terminal and run
    Code:
    lspci
    Look for a line about your network controller. (On my computer, the output looks like this:
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
    00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
    00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
    00:0c.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97] (rev 06)
    00:0d.0 SCSI storage controller: Adaptec AHA-7850 (rev 01)
    00:0e.0 Communication controller: 3Com Corp, Modem Division WinModem
    00:10.0 Network controller: Intersil Corporation ISL3890 [Prism GT/Prism Duette]/ISL3886 [Prism Javelin/Prism Xbow] (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV4 [RIVA TNT] (rev 04)
    and it's the one in bold that I'm interested in.)

    Once you know what card, using what chipset, you have, you can go from there (there are different drivers for different chipsets).

    HTH
    Toodle-oo
    Giles
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are powerless. Our greatest fear is Microsoft"
    Registered linux user #391027

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by Giles View Post
    I dont know about any graphical methods in Fedora, as I've never used it... But I'd suggest the first thing to do is to pop open a terminal and run
    Code:
    lspci
    Look for a line about your network controller. (On my computer, the output looks like this:
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
    00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
    00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
    00:0c.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97] (rev 06)
    00:0d.0 SCSI storage controller: Adaptec AHA-7850 (rev 01)
    00:0e.0 Communication controller: 3Com Corp, Modem Division WinModem
    00:10.0 Network controller: Intersil Corporation ISL3890 [Prism GT/Prism Duette]/ISL3886 [Prism Javelin/Prism Xbow] (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV4 [RIVA TNT] (rev 04)
    and it's the one in bold that I'm interested in.)

    Once you know what card, using what chipset, you have, you can go from there (there are different drivers for different chipsets).

    HTH
    Toodle-oo
    Giles
    Yeah how do i go about running that?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    In Fedora, you have to include /sbin:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci

  5. #5
    Linux User Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gloucestershire and Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    283
    Quote Originally Posted by raiderleaf View Post
    Yeah how do i go about running that?
    Look in your program menu for a program called something like "console" or "terminal" - I don't know where that will be in Fedora, but in Mandriva it's usually somewhere in "System". You'll get a window with a black background and white text, where you type in
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    and hit return to get the sort of output I showed above. (I didn't realise you needed to add /sbin to the beginning on fedora, so it's a good job Thrillhouse is around )

    Giles
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are powerless. Our greatest fear is Microsoft"
    Registered linux user #391027

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Thrillhouse View Post
    In Fedora, you have to include /sbin:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    Only if you're running as a regular user; root has /sbin in the path. The tool's location implies that it isn't supposed to be run by the regular user (but we know that it's always safer to do so).

    Quote Originally Posted by raiderleaf View Post
    Yeah how do i go about running that?
    There are several ways to bring up a command prompt. Here are some:

    - There is a link to it on the system menu - under Applications->Accessories (I think). I hardly ever use this, 'cos I can never find it when I need it.

    - Do ALT-F2 and it'll pop up a 'run' box - type 'xterm' in there, and you'll have a command prompt in a window.

    - Switch to text mode with CTRL-ALT-F1. Text mode 'dsnt mean u can tlk lik ths' , you just type your regular username and password at the prompts and you're in a text-only system. You can leave this logged on for a bit, and switch back to the graphical desktop with CTRL-ALT-F7.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    97
    This is what it says :

    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 01)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 11)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge
    00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:14.6 Modem: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)
    06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 [AirForce 54g] 802.11a/b/g PCI Express Transceiver (rev 02)
    06:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller
    06:04.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
    06:04.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller
    06:04.4 Generic system peripheral [0805]: Texas Instruments PCI6411/6421/6611/6621/7411/7421/7611/7621 Secure Digital Controller
    06:06.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Code:
    06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 [AirForce 54g] 802.11a/b/g PCI Express Transceiver (rev 02)
    This is the one you're interested in. Just from Googling, it looks like this card will require the use of ndiswrapper and the bcmwl5 driver. Here's a guide that might help you get started.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/network/w...and_linux.html

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by Thrillhouse View Post
    Code:
    06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 [AirForce 54g] 802.11a/b/g PCI Express Transceiver (rev 02)
    This is the one you're interested in. Just from Googling, it looks like this card will require the use of ndiswrapper and the bcmwl5 driver. Here's a guide that might help you get started.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/network/w...and_linux.html

    This is where i get lost, but i made it up to here.

    Adding the drivers.

    Note:From this point forward, this guide assumes that the name of the driver is "bcmwl5". Substitute accordingly.
    At this point you need to get the windows drivers you are going to install. You'll want to look for these files.

    bcmwl5.inf
    bcmwl5.sys

    Place them in a folder, and run the following commands:


    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i /link/to/bcmwl5.inf


    Obviously replacing the file location to wherever you have it.

    A few additional notes:
    If you try installing something with ndiswrapper and it goes wrong, it will still list it as installed even though it is not working. You need to run the command below to remove the driver from the list so you can try again.

  10. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by raiderleaf View Post
    This is where i get lost, but i made it up to here.

    Adding the drivers.

    Note:From this point forward, this guide assumes that the name of the driver is "bcmwl5". Substitute accordingly.
    At this point you need to get the windows drivers you are going to install. You'll want to look for these files.

    bcmwl5.inf
    bcmwl5.sys

    Place them in a folder, and run the following commands:


    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i /link/to/bcmwl5.inf


    Obviously replacing the file location to wherever you have it.

    A few additional notes:
    If you try installing something with ndiswrapper and it goes wrong, it will still list it as installed even though it is not working. You need to run the command below to remove the driver from the list so you can try again.
    Do you have the drivers? If you have Windows on another partition, I think its ok to copy them from there. Is that where you got lost? Or are you having trouble with the command ndiswrapper -i /link/to/bcmwl5.inf?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •