Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux. I know there's many posts about installing video drivers, but none of the them help me in my situation. Here is the problem. I go to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trouble installing nvidia driver

I'm new to Linux. I know there's many posts about installing video drivers, but none of the them help me in my situation.

Here is the problem. I go to run level 3 and start the installation and get these errors:

ERROR: Unable to find the kernel source tree for the currently running kernel.
    Please make sure you have installed the kernel source files for your
    kernel and that they are properly configured; on Red Hat Linux systems,
    for example, be sure you have the 'kernel-source' or 'kernel-devel' RPM
    installed. If you know the correct kernel source files are installed,
    you may specify the kernel source path with the '--kernel-source-path'
    command line option.
    ERROR: Installation has failed. Please see the file
    '/var/log/nvidia-installer.log' for details. You may find suggestions
    on fixing installation problems in the README available on the Linux
    driver download page at Welcome to NVIDIA - Graphics Cards, Motherboards, Notebooks, Desktop PCs.

I'm REALLY confused about the kernel stuff. Can anyone nudge me in the right direction?

You need the kernel-devel package, like that error message says. If your machine is connected to the internet, you can use yum to install it (you might as well get the kernel-headers as well, you might need them later):
    Code:
    #yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers

Should be able to just 'yum install kmod-nvidia' and be done with it, as long as the Livna repo is installed. Reboot and see the pretty nvidia logo just before desktop login.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Thrillhouse View Post