Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
I realize that topics like this have been posted in this forum, but they have either said "linux doesn't need virus protection, only a stupid user would get a virus" ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220

    Virus Software For Linux


    I realize that topics like this have been posted in this forum, but they have either said "linux doesn't need virus protection, only a stupid user would get a virus" or else they recommend solutions for fileservers. I'm taking a linux machine to school next year, and virus protection is required for any computer on the network. I emailed the IT dept, and they said yes linux is very secure, and yes you must still have virus protection. My question is: will a virus protection package that says it is for a fileserver work on a workstation, and can anyone recommend a virus protection package, either free or not, for an individual RH9 desktop user?

    Thanks
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    The best anti-virus is to keep your system up to date, either with RedHat Network or trough yum/apt.

    Good luck

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682

    Re: Virus Software For Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by n3wo
    I emailed the IT dept, and they said yes linux is very secure, and yes you must still have virus protection.
    They're off their nut. You can tell them that I said that.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220
    Thanks guys!
    I did download centralcommand's free workstation trial, and it uses up approximately 99.6% of my processor speed whenever I go to open a file or directory. If I turn down the setting so that it doesn't scan all the time, I might as well not have AV software! :P
    The school said that there are other student linux users, so I've asked to be put in touch with them to find out what they are doing for anti-virus.

    Sorry for the somewhat silly post!!
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Quote Originally Posted by n3wo
    Thanks guys!
    I did download centralcommand's free workstation trial, and it uses up approximately 99.6% of my processor speed whenever I go to open a file or directory. If I turn down the setting so that it doesn't scan all the time, I might as well not have AV software! :P
    The school said that there are other student linux users, so I've asked to be put in touch with them to find out what they are doing for anti-virus.

    Sorry for the somewhat silly post!!
    No problems.

    when you talk to the other linux users, dont forget to mention linuxforums.org

    Cheers,

    Jason

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    you could always just have it installed and just keep it disabled that way the it ppl will behappy cause it is installed there and they can think that it is scanning but you will know it wont be
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Good idea, k. I'd be interested to see what the other Linux users are doing for this. Send them over to register, and they can post how they meet these reqs.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  8. #8
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Obviously the professionals that dont use linux are still realy clueless and just tow the party line(EVERYBODY has to have anti virus software) rather than look into how linux works and is secured, ane the fact that anyone using it at this point realy probably knows more that they do..
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552

    Re: Virus Software For Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by n3wo
    I realize that topics like this have been posted in this forum, but they have either said "linux doesn't need virus protection, only a stupid user would get a virus" or else they recommend solutions for fileservers. I'm taking a linux machine to school next year, and virus protection is required for any computer on the network. I emailed the IT dept, and they said yes linux is very secure, and yes you must still have virus protection. My question is: will a virus protection package that says it is for a fileserver work on a workstation, and can anyone recommend a virus protection package, either free or not, for an individual RH9 desktop user?

    Thanks
    Download and install the ClamAV.
    Let it update itself at regular basis and make sure that the daemon is booted at boottime.
    Should give you some resonable protection.

    The Link.

    :smoke:
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    220
    Thanks Opnosforatou, I downloaded and installed clamav, and it will manually scan the entire harddrive in two hours!! (It is only 15 Gb, but Mcafee takes almost three hours for less than 10 G ) I'm having a little trouble installing the daemon, and I'm not on the internet with linux, so the auto-updater will have to wait!!
    N3WO

    There are 10 types of people; those who count in binary and those who don\'t...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •