Find the answer to your Linux question:
I upgraded to the latest ubuntu release, Hardy Heron 8.04, and noticed a shell process marked in the system monitor called 'sh Zombie'. It has a 4-integer PID and uses ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hidden process + zombie shell found on new install of ubuntu 8.04 - what do i do

I upgraded to the latest ubuntu release, Hardy Heron 8.04, and noticed a shell process marked in the system monitor called 'sh Zombie'.

It has a 4-integer PID and uses no memory (says Memory N/A); it opens no files and has no memory maps, and appears to do nothing.

I had a poke around using unhide proc and found another, different PID, this time a hidden one with 5-integers:

unhide proc
    Found HIDDEN PID: XXXXX

can't find any info on what to do about zombie scripts or hidden pid's

How worried should i be? i'm not a security expert or anything, but am usually pretty careful about passwords and thought ubuntu was safe - it was the hardest box to hack at a recent competition - the only notebook to remain unhacked at the end of the competition is the Sony VAIO running Ubuntu 7.10.

Anyone know of security flaws in ubuntu 8.04 ?

A zombie process is one which has terminated but the kernel couldn't find a parent to notify. All processes when they terminate leave an exit code for their parent process, which is supposed to pick it up. Where this doesn't happen, the kernel doesn't completely clean up the process's task structure. That probably explains why the zombie shell you discovered isn't using any resources.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"

Just Joined!
    The above happened only when i upgraded using the 'upgrade' button in synaptics - i burnt an image of 8.04 onto a CD and did a fresh install... no zombie and no hidden process was found.

hmmm... could be a security flaw? or just an issue concerning synaptics?