Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am wondering how I can restrict a user from uploading any files. Basically I am using a Linux server to host website files for web development projects for clients ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17

    Restrict a User from Uploading Files?


    I am wondering how I can restrict a user from uploading any files. Basically I am using a Linux server to host website files for web development projects for clients and I want to let the clients login to the machine using NX server (remote access) so they can view the files but I do not want them to be able to in any way remove the files from the machine until I authorize them to.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Directory permissions. Set the directory to read only.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17
    Thanks, this would work under normal circumstances however the catch here is that I need them to be able to edit the files but not download them to their own computer (upload from my machine)

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    I'm not sure how you expect this to work.
    If they can read them they can copy/download them.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Just Joined! andriagutama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Batam, Indonesia
    Posts
    34
    I Agree with you,
    How can you restrict your client from downloading your files, if your client able to read that files?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17
    They are accessing the files through an NX client (NoMachine NX - Desktop Virtualization and Remote Access Management Software) so they need to be able to use the files but not remove them from the server, I guess there is no easy solution to this

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Again, if you want them to be able to use the files but not remove them then you should be looking at the directory setting to allow read only. Client will be able to use the files but not delete them.

    This software you want to use doesn't have this as an option?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    I guess there is no easy solution to this
    There is absolutely no solution for this. It's a fundamental
    characteristic of the way things work. When they read or edit the files,
    their computer reads or edits a locally cached copy. They already
    have a copy of the file as soon as it appears on their screen.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    There is absolutely no solution for this. It's a fundamental
    characteristic of the way things work. When they read or edit the files,
    their computer reads or edits a locally cached copy. They already
    have a copy of the file as soon as it appears on their screen.
    No this isn't correct, you aren't understanding what NX is (NoMachine NX - Desktop Virtualization and Remote Access Management Software) its a remote access software so they do not download any of the files, nothing is cached locally on their machine

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Are your users using diskless workstations? I still don't see how
    they can see and edit files and be prevented from keeping a copy.
    Maybe the support people from the software company can provide
    a solution.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •