Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am still fairly new to Linux and learn something new almost everyday. Please bare with me. Okay I have this computer hacker problem. This guy keeps on getting into ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu 8.04 x11vnc

I am still fairly new to Linux and learn something new almost everyday. Please bare with me.

Okay I have this computer hacker problem. This guy keeps on getting into my computer and makes certain programs run. Sometimes they run with out me knowing. Other times he installed programs on my computer. Well today I noticed that my computer light was blinking. I knew I wasn't running any programs. So I disconnected myself from the internet and went into my root file >> .bash_history I noticed that the last command entered in there was x11vnc. I didn't enter that in my root terminal. I did a little research and it says it's just another remote desktop application. My question is, since he enabled x11vnc does that give him permission to watch what I am doing on my computer with out me knowing? I already un-installed it because it freaked me out. Will someone please help clarify? Thanks.

Just Joined!

Arrow Cable Modem and IP Address

I have roadrunner cable internet. I also have a computer hacker problem. My question to anyone that is able to help me is if I were to get a different cable modem will that change my ip address, broadcast address, subnet mask, default route, primary dns, secondary dns, and hardware address ?

I tried talking to someone in Best Buy and they didn't know. Then the guy from Best Buy transfered me over to Geek Squad and they said they couldn't help me unless I paid them for their help. I also tried talking to my internet provider and they were not sure. They said that I could purchase another modem from them just to see if it would work (I'm not even sure if I should or not).