Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey Everyone, I'm a near-total Linux newbie, and for now, this is just a proof-of-concept question: is it possible to create such a block with iptables, that limits the number ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Iptables connection limiting

Hey Everyone,

I'm a near-total Linux newbie, and for now, this is just a proof-of-concept question: is it possible to create such a block with iptables, that limits the number of incoming connections, not from a single IP or a known range, but from a wildcard range.

The goal would be to create a firewall that allows only a preset number of IPs, say 250, to connect to it's network out of many, say 10.000, while sending the others to a predefined page, but the IPs would not be known in advance(hence the need for being able to do all this with wildcards). Then once an IP of the first 250 disconnects, the next to attempt would be allowed, while the one after it redirected.

Was this understandable?

Thank you in advance,
    The ThunderBird

Yes, this would be possible. While I have never done something like this myself I believe it can be done using LIMIT, MARK and DNAT.

Check out the following Tutorial for IPTABLES.

Here you should be able to see how each one is used and build your rule set of of this.

Regards
    Robert

Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Just Joined!
    Okay, after having had a lot of other things to do, and a lot to learn about iptables, I finally came up with something that I think should work. Here's the code:

Code:
    #! /bin/sh

##################################
    # Script to set up connection limiting for Neptun servers #
    # to protect from overload                                                     #
    ##################################

# Accept connections if total number of connections is below safety limit