Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I'm a web developer that has been asigned the task to "install and configure" a dedicated server that will be running Linux (don't know what distro, I think ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Configuring/Securing a Dedicated Server

Hi there,

I'm a web developer that has been asigned the task to "install and configure" a dedicated server that will be running Linux (don't know what distro, I think it is Fedora Core if I recall correctly). The small "problem" is that I never did this before, and regardless of what the hosting includes configured, I don't know where to start looking for basic things that "should be" configured in a determined way.

Obviously I'm not asking for an extended response, as I am going to Google a bit (already printed some documents), I don't pretend to make someone write a manual, but I would be very pleased if someone could help in building a list of what to check. The most important things I mean, without going into much detail. I can read documents later, but first I need to know *what* to look for.

I'm not new at Linux as I started playing with it with Slackware 3 and tried Debian 2, Mandrake, Redhat, Fedora... but never used it deeply. And of course, never configured fully a dedicated server to host web sites. I recently did a small course about Linux servers and touched topics like ProFTP, Apache, POP3/SMTP, Webalizer... but only a few hours each.

So basically, a linux-newbie that has to have a ready-to-run server.

Actually I've got this small list of things to check about:

- FTP Server
    - Mail (Incoming/Outgoing)
    - Web Server
    - MySQL
    - Stats

With that in mind, I've got two questions that come to my mind now.
    - What is the most recommended Apache version actually? 1.3.x? 2.x.x?
    - Should I think on installing PHP 5 or just leave the PHP 4 installation that I guess comes by default?