Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am new in the Linux user after I was attacked by tons of virus and spyware when I web surf in Windows. I now install Ubuntu 9.10 in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How Ubuntu will block virus/spyware when I surf the web?

Hi,

I am new in the Linux user after I was attacked by tons of virus and spyware when I web surf in Windows. I now install Ubuntu 9.10 in my USB drive, and run my current computer by booting from USB drive. I have a question about will Ubuntu block any virus and spyware when I web surf some dangerous website? Because I still have my hard drive with Windows, and I am not sure whether those viruses will be smart enough to stay in my Windows system and are triggered automatically when I run Windows next time?

Thanks all Linux experts in advance.

Vincent

I would run the No scripts and add blocker addon in Ubuntus web browser (if using firefox or seamonkey browsers. Not sure about Epiphany), That will cut out a lot of stuff. Otherwise. Ubuntu is like Teflon. Windows malware just won't stick. You can go into Synaptic Package Manager and install Firestarter

Hope that answers your query.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

one of the main security advantages gnu/linux has (at present) over windows is simply "security via obscurity": most malware expects to run on windows, and hardly any of it expects to run on gnu/linux (yes, some does, but comparing the malware problem in gnu/linux to the problem in windows is like comparing a large cruise ship to a large continent).