I'm using a security audit tool which gives the following requirement for mail logging:

mail.*     /var/log/maillog
mail.none  /var/log/maillog
mail.crit  /var/log/maillog
mail.debug /var/log/maillog
From what I understand the above basically tells sysloger to send:
mail.*     All Mail Messages.
mail.none  NO mail messages.
mail.crit  Critical mail messages.
mail.debug Debugging mail messages.
I would have thought that mail.* would suffice, and absolutly no need for mail.none!