Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys, This is my first post at this forum and hopefully the first of many. I am a final year student in college and as part of a project ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

reverse ssh blocked

Hi Guys,
    This is my first post at this forum and hopefully the first of many.

I am a final year student in college and as part of a project I was required to link two computers together over the internet such that socket data can be sent to control motors etc. I successfully got this working through a reverse SSH connection.
    I did this by means of a 3rd computer on another network which I had control over.

What is bothering me is that when i establish a SSH connection to this 3rd computer from the college wired network (the 3rd server is on a different network on another premises) the connection is successful but I am unable to establish a reverse connection. The wired network blocks most ports for security so I have the server listening on port 443.

When I am using the college's wireless network however, I am able to establish an SSH connection to the server and succesffully estbalish a reverse SSH connection listening on port 8080. What this means is that the 3rd party server forwards any data it gets on port 8080 to my computer in the college.

My question is simply how can the college block this? I mean, once an SSH connection is established, it is encrypted and since reverse SSH connections are tunnelled how can the college network know what is going on and block it? The computer that I am using in the college is my own so there is no security systems on it blocking the connection.

Thanks

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.