Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, First time poster so if I've inadvertantly broken any forum rules I apologise in advance. Basically I'm a newbie to linux, have tried a few distros on live ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Encrypted Video Requirement

Hello all,

First time poster so if I've inadvertantly broken any forum rules I apologise in advance.

Basically I'm a newbie to linux, have tried a few distros on live CD's but not really done much with them, just had a browse around.

I'm working on a project where essentially what I need to do is have a PTZ camera running on battery and transmitting it's images back to somewhere via 3g connection. I am looking at using a raspberry pi with the PTZ camera connected to it along with a 3g dongle. I don't need any help hardware wise (ie powering the pi from battery etc) I just need some help with what to use on the pi OS wise.

Is anyone willing to help me with this?

So far I've found zone minder, which would be able to control the PTZ of the camera, but which linux distro would this run on that is compatible with raspberry pi? Also does the pi actually support 3g dongles? There is a slight hitch in that I also need the video feed to be encrypted, with 256 AES at least if not stronger. I've looked at possibly using zoneminder through a VPN, are any of the linux VPN options 256 AES?