Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi, I'm facing connectivity issue while connecting through putty. I can ping from windows to Linux but putty I can't, How can we check vmware settings through vmware I'm enclosing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12

    Connectivity issue : Putty from windows to linux


    Hi,

    I'm facing connectivity issue while connecting through putty. I can ping from windows to Linux but putty I can't, How can we check vmware settings through vmware

    I'm enclosing screen shot could please suggest!!

    Regards,
    TK

    putty_linux_connectivity error.jpg

    putty_1.jpg

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie arespi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Monterrey , Mexico
    Posts
    143
    If you can ping your linux machine then it would seem like the network settings are correct. Is the ssh server running in linux?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    Hi

    I installed Redhat 5.3 on linux VMWARE. Whether i need to check vmware settings?

    Could you please let us know, How can we check SSH?


    Regards,
    TK

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie arespi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Monterrey , Mexico
    Posts
    143
    at the linux terminal console as root, type
    Code:
    service sshd status
    openssh-daemon (pid  2052) is running...
    If it says that it doesn't recognice sshd service then you need to install it, or if says it is stoped just retype the command

    Code:
     $ service sshd start

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    Hi,

    SSHD runs perfectly, can you let us know what is next step?

    Regards,
    TK

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,384
    Check, if you can connect to ssh locally.
    ie: open a terminal in your redhat 5.3 vm and type
    Code:
    ssh 190.191.192.1
    If that responds, then you either have
    - a firewall issue on either redhat or windows side
    - a netwok issue.

    Speaking of network:
    That IP 190.191.192.1 is a valid public IP. But the incremental nature and netmask makes me curious.
    Is it actually assigned to you?
    Because it belongs to a company in argentina..

    Anyway, the vm and the host need to either be in the same network or routed.


    P.S.: What is the point of installing an old version of redhat?
    The actual versions are 5.9 or 6.4
    Last edited by Irithori; 04-26-2013 at 08:28 AM.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    Hi,

    Now windows/linux are in same network,earlier when i'm trying to connect error MSG will be 'Network configuration error' could please let us know how can will route?

    Regards,
    TK

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,384
    If the windows host and the linux guest have a NIC each in the same network now, then there is no need for routes.

    Edit:
    Of course, the virtual NIC needs to be bridged for this usecase.
    Last edited by Irithori; 04-26-2013 at 09:20 AM.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    Hi,

    Could you please let us know how to edit the settings in VMware

    for following the virtual NIC needs to be bridged for this usecase

    Regards,
    TK

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,384
    It is documented here
    Configuring Bridged Networking
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •