Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
OK i want to go through my linux box and secure any holes it might have heres my setup i have my cable modem connecting to my router than my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    314

    Security is the issue


    OK i want to go through my linux box and secure any holes it might have

    heres my setup

    i have my cable modem connecting to my router than my linux server connecting to my router at a static IP address and then the rest of computer connected on a dhcp.

    my server is a wins server as well as an apache server and other things.

    What are some security issues i need to address with setup. Are there any. Are there any programs i can to prevent hacking or something of the sort.

    Can i use my server to protect the rest of the computers on the network.

    Any Help would be appreciated

    thanx for reading..
    The computer made me do it!! Slackware and SUSE too Gig\'em WHOOOOP!!
    \"God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain amount of tasks, At the rate I\'m going I will never die.\" (I don\'t know)

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If the router is doing NAT, then you have a great deal of security from there. All I can give are the general tips: Keep your software upgraded to the latest version, especially the apache server, and try to run as many servers as possible as non-root users and in chroot jails.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Shutdown all unnessasary services that you dont need to have up and running also check with

    Code:
    netstat -anp
    Which network services that are up and running and are listening on ports.. maybe you can shutdown something.

    check also whith chkconfig if you have that on your distribution, this is how my linux look like..

    Code:
    chkconfig --list |grep 3:on
    microcode_ctl   0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    kudzu           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    syslog          0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    netfs           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    network         0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    random          0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    rawdevices      0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    pcmcia          0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    keytable        0:off   1:on    2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    apmd            0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    atd             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    gpm             0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    sshd            0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    sendmail        0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    crond           0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    anacron         0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    xfs             0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    xinetd          0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    Thats all services that starts on runlevel 3 that are my default runlevel.

    Regards
    Regards

    Andutt

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    314
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    If the router is doing NAT, then you have a great deal of security from there. All I can give are the general tips: Keep your software upgraded to the latest version, especially the apache server, and try to run as many servers as possible as non-root users and in chroot jails.
    How do i run things as non root useres and what are chroot jails.
    The computer made me do it!! Slackware and SUSE too Gig\'em WHOOOOP!!
    \"God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain amount of tasks, At the rate I\'m going I will never die.\" (I don\'t know)

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    How to do that differs from program to program. Check the respective man pages for it.
    chroot is running a program using a different directory as the root directory. That means that even if it is hacked, it cannot access any files outside the directory you have jailed it in. For that to be effective, you must either run the server as a non-root user, or patch your kernel with grsecurity and enable the chroot protection settings. With a normal kernel, root can easily break the chroot jail.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Its a bit tricky to set up chroot-environments but when its up it workes well. I sholdnt recommend it for newbies though...There are other easier things that can do much good that are easier to set up.

    Regards
    Regards

    Andutt

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    314
    Thanx for the input Ill look into it and see if it would be worth my effort to set it up

    Thanx again for the direction
    The computer made me do it!! Slackware and SUSE too Gig\'em WHOOOOP!!
    \"God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain amount of tasks, At the rate I\'m going I will never die.\" (I don\'t know)

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Yes do that, Check your services and open ports on a first step. Its a fast thing and can tribute much to your security..

    Regards
    Regards

    Andutt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •