Find the answer to your Linux question:
So...about four weeks ago, I had one crazy day where my Windows 8.1 install started redirecting my searches, then disabled the Defender and firewall programs, and just started acting crazy. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with log? Possible malware or windows-user's paranoia:

So...about four weeks ago, I had one crazy day where my Windows 8.1 install started redirecting my searches, then disabled the Defender and firewall programs, and just started acting crazy. Consequently, my Android phone and tablet and wife's laptop went haywire as well. Sure I was facing a rootkit-type malware, I did some standard searching and ran several tools, ultimately donating and installing Parted Magic in order to help assess the situation.

This being said, I admit I am a complete newbie to Linux, but not computers. I have been able to do a lot of searching for hidden partitions and learning about boot records and such, and have taught myself slowly how to do some fundamentals such as reading some logs and using netstat and lastlogin and the like.

Then things got weird.

After a secure erase of a SSD, I essentially started up an install of Windows with only it attached. A reboot later, the Windows Defender shut down and everything started up again. I did make sure that I was not connected to the internet and any networked systems, So paranoid I'd become, I even battery pulled my phone.

Now...it's been four weeks and I have yet to figure out what's happening. I actually went and bought a brand new hard drive and motherboard. Using only the same keyboard and mouse and careful not to use any rootkits hidden in a USB drive, I installed Windows 7 and the same stuff happened.