Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
When I try and SSH into my maching, I get a Access denied error. I know I am using the correct name and password, cause the problem occurs again when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    7

    SSH Problem


    When I try and SSH into my maching, I get a Access denied error. I know I am using the correct name and password, cause the problem occurs again when I log in at the terminal. This time it act as if it will log out, welcome me and then kick me out almost instantly. The only account that can be used to log into something is the root account.

    I have a number of services that will also not start cause of this issue. It is giving everything permissions denied errors if its not root.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Did you start the SSH Daemon first?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    7
    Indeed I did. The SSH client will work for the root user, just no others. I'm getting permissions denied everywhere I look no matter what the permissions are really set to.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Sounds like you might have borked PAM. have you been playing around with any packages or anything recently that might cause such breakage?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    7
    Indeed I have. I was trying to install firebird recently. about the same time this happened.

    Please tell me you know a way to fix it.

    Thanks,
    Jacob

  7. #6
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    Have you tried just re-installing the most recent version of sshd?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    7
    I'm not sure the sshd is the solution, if I go to the console and try to log into the machine there, is still have the same problem.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    84
    maybe this can help you

    #netstat -tulp

    is sshd LISTEN ? if yes your ssh server ready to remote from anywhere
    or try to ssh your linux box do
    #ssh localhost

    or you login remote with user root ?
    did you change your /etc/ssh/sshd_config
    and you change

    #PermitRootLogin to no

    did you install firewall ?, or maybe grab some easy firewall that i always used http://www.malibyte.net/iptables (read the installation procedure and of course you have to open your ssh port 22)

    but if you really advance with iptables you can create your script with your own

    and if you do ssh from linux box and then you can reconnect remove ~./ssh/known_hosts

    maybe this can help you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •