I'm a relative noob to Linux, and having managed to install Linux and get things pretty much set up how I want, I've decided to now focus on security.

My PC is a pentium 3 800MHz running slackware 10.0 (I ran some older Redhat distros first, then jumped in the deep end!). It is mostly (actually make that entirely) used for internet browsing. I don't really have much that needs protecting, just the basic install and various peices of rubbish I've downloaded, but I'd like to have a go at "hardening" my computer mainly for educational reasons (I'm looking towards a career in IT) and just out of interest. I've uninstalled Apache and Samba since I won't use them, and have been researching iptables in order to set up a firewall, but the thing I first figured I'd have a go at is setting some permissions for my partitions. Here is my /etc/fstab..

/dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda6 / reiserfs defaults 1 1
/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 defaults 1 2
/dev/hda5 /var reiserfs defaults 1 2
/dev/hda7 /usr reiserfs defaults 1 2
/dev/hda8 /home reiserfs defaults 0 2
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

[edit]
and here are some sizes..
/boot 20MB
swap 256MB
/var 500MB
/ 800MB
/usr 3000MB
/home 5000MB
unused ~10GB
[/edit]

as you can see, I put /boot, /var, /usr and /home on seperate partitions. I also made the following soft links..

/opt -> /usr/opt
/tmp -> /var/tmp

..after seeing this done elsewhere. It seemed to make sense - /opt is similar to /usr and would be better off there than on the root partition? /tmp is variable data like /var and should be better off there than on the root partition?

The plan was to install LVM so I can later change partion sizes around easily.

Now I have a few questions..