Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm new to IPTables and am setting it up on my Linux box. As I read more on it I'm getting confused about the basic operation. Most of the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

IPtables, backwards?

Hello,

I'm new to IPTables and am setting it up on my Linux box. As I read more on it I'm getting confused about the basic operation. Most of the rule sets I've examined have the following three lines at the top

input ACCEPT
    forward ACCEPT
    output ACCEPT

followed by various other rules also with lines that ACCEPT. I am guessing I'm missing something basic here. I would think that the first lines should be all DENY and then specific ACCEPT lines. The basic premise would be to deny eveything and then open holes as necessary. What am I missing, why aren't the first three lines like bellow?

input DENY
    forward DENY
    output DENY

Thank you for any help.

Linux Guru

Re: IPtables, backwards?

Quote Originally Posted by thllgo
    Hello,

I'm new to IPTables and am setting it up on my Linux box. As I read more on it I'm getting confused about the basic operation. Most of the rule sets I've examined have the following three lines at the top

input ACCEPT
    forward ACCEPT
    output ACCEPT

followed by various other rules also with lines that ACCEPT. I am guessing I'm missing something basic here. I would think that the first lines should be all DENY and then specific ACCEPT lines. The basic premise would be to deny eveything and then open holes as necessary. What am I missing, why aren't the first three lines like bellow?

input DENY
    forward DENY
    output DENY

Thank you for any help.
    because you have not set deny as your default policy.

For each chain, you can have either ACCEPT or DENY as the "default" (as shown in the first 3 lines of iptables -L).

To set the default, use:
    iptables -P INPUT <option>
    iptables -P OUTPUT <option>