Find the answer to your Linux question:
So im fairly new to linux (i just installed RH8 last week). Im not sure exactly where this question is supposed to go, so i put it here. How do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie firewall ?

So im fairly new to linux (i just installed RH8 last week). Im not sure exactly where this question is supposed to go, so i put it here. How do make my IP adress invisible? I loved kazaa when i had winblows (even though i think thats what ruined my system), and i plan on using some other P2P software on linux (why else would anyone pay $50 month for DSL?). The thing is, Ive been told that now kazaa users are starting to be subponaed (sp?). Needless to say, i dont want this to happen to me. Is there any way to prevent the feds showing up on my door?

Also related to this question: certain software titles send out something to the company saying that you are or arent registered to use this particular program. I have a burned copy of AutoCAD and 3dStudio that i would like to continue to use, as well as a burned copy of winblows 2000 that i will need to run them. I only intend to connect to the internet through linux. Will these programs still be able to transmit back home, even though they are under a different OS (on a different partition)?

Apologies if this is covered somewhere else, i didnt really know how to search it

Just Joined!
    I was just thinking, if Autocad (& these other programs) will run in wine, will i have to worry about this problem?

Linux Engineer
    im fairly certain that this forums moderaters would not be happy if we answerd that question. The security forum is primarily for questions concerning the security of your system/network. Not for help in breaking the law undetected;) perhaps you might find help elsewhere?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!