Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
guys what's a User Datagram Protocol anyway? how come 2 IP addresses are listed in my iptable and is being allowed connection, or i'm assuming ACCEPT is the same? i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289

    where did these IP addresses come from?


    guys what's a User Datagram Protocol anyway? how come 2 IP addresses are listed in my iptable and is being allowed connection, or i'm assuming ACCEPT is the same? i checked these on a web browser and they lead to sites i have never been to. although the sites that showed up seemed harmless, i really don't know why they are there...

    answers anyone?
    Registered User #345074

  2. #2
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    UDP is a connectionless protocol that, like TCP, runs on top of IP networks. Unlike TCP/IP, UDP/IP provides very few error recovery services, offering instead a direct way to send and receive datagrams over an IP network. It's used primarily for broadcasting messages over a network.
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289
    well why are there IP addresses being allowed connection when i didn't place them there?
    Registered User #345074

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    Dunno. I haven't really worked with iptables. I only explained what UDP was.
    Maybe you can post your file here and someone might have a explaination
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    paste the output from iptables --list

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289
    nevermind guys, i took care of it. one IP should be there. the other one i just took out since i don' t know where the heck it came from. it didn't do anything and i can still connect to the internet without it. thanks!
    Registered User #345074

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •