Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux, and have used the Ubuntu Live cd to get a quick sneek peek. I was curious, as to how secure I am using the live ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu Linux Live CD security?

I am new to Linux, and have used the Ubuntu Live cd to get a quick sneek peek.

I was curious, as to how secure I am using the live cd.
    Does anyone know if its even possible for my puter to be comprimised when I am running the Linux OS from CD?

I would imagine not, since I dont think its even possible to contract a virus or spyware,trojan, keylogger, any of that sort without the OS being on HD, Is that right?

I am just wondering if I am being Naive, thinking that I am totally secure accessing my $$$ type accounts online, by the use of the Live CD?

thanks for any input.

Just Joined!
    If hardware keylogger is attached then you're never safe.

Does anyone know if its even possible for my puter to be comprimised when I am running the Linux OS from CD?
    It depends on what you mean by that. It's not very likely that your read-only live operating system is going to get compromised.

I haven't played around with an ubuntu live cd since 4.10, but I would imagine they have iptables up and filtering all service ports, so even if some exploitable service were running you'd have to go out of your way to make it accessible to a cracker.

What aspect are you worried about, exactly?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by void_false
    Well, I sure didn't install one, and I'm pretty sure nobodys been in the house and put one on my PC assuming when you say hardware, you really MEAN hardware.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by anomie
    It depends on what you mean by that. It's not very likely that your read-only live operating system is going to get compromised.