Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm still a relative newbie to Linux, so please bear with me if this "security problem" I found is really just an error on my part. I'm running Red ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Entered a locked ("000") folder w/out being root

Hi,

I'm still a relative newbie to Linux, so please bear with me if this "security problem" I found is really just an error on my part.

I'm running Red Hat 9 (kernel 2.4.20-31.9) and KDE 3.1-13 and generally use Konqueror (3.1-15) as my file manager. Well, being the paranoid type, I tend to keep a lot of my private info (bank records, etc.) stored in a directory that's totally locked when I'm not using it. That is, each time I want to access files in this directory I open up a terminal, su to root by typing in my password, then do "chmod 700 -R <directoryname>". When I'm done, I go back to the terminal and lock that directory back up again with "chmod 000 -R <directoryname>".

Now comes the funky part. When using Konqueror as my file manager, I'm able to do the following to unlock the "locked" directory even without having root privileges:

Open a Konqueror window and enter to the directory containing the "locked" directory;
    Type <Ctrl-E> ("execute shell command");
    In the "shell command" dialog box, type "chmod 700 -R <directoryname>";
    That's it! The folder is then accessible to me as a regular user.

At first I thought I might have accidentally retained root permission from something else I'd done earlier in the session. But that doesn't seem to be the case, since I was unable to re-lock the folder using the same sequence of steps that unlocked it (apart from replacing "chmod 700" with "chmod 000", of course).

Can someone please tell me if there's something I'm missing here, or could this actually be a bug in Konqueror or some other part of my software? Thanks.

Just Joined!