Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm very new to the Linux Web Server world. I cannot find information on this, likely, because I am not searching for the right thing... I don't know what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Server Hostname on the Local Network

Hello, I'm very new to the Linux Web Server world. I cannot find information on this, likely, because I am not searching for the right thing... I don't know what to search for exactly.

I have an Apache server (Ubuntu Server ) running on my local network. Right now the only way I can access it is by typing in the IP address. I have had a web server installed on my laptop for a while (just for testing a website) and only have to type in my host name.

How do I go about getting my stand-alone webserver to respond to its own host name?
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

to respond to a hostname you need to register the name in your internal DNS server.

Just Joined!
    u can type localhost or hostname to access the server . u can find host name of ur computer by typing hostname at the terminal.

Would I go about it by using BIND DNS (for example this guide) I don't really know what to search for.

Thanks
    Running Linux Since 2001

Just Joined!
    u don't necessarily need the dns server for accessing the standalone website. i've not installed dns server on my laptop still i can access my web server by either typing hostname or localhost.

if things are not working , edit the
    /etc/hosts file & add the hostname & ur ip to it & it'll work.

I added line 3 and 4 but it hasn't made a difference. Is this how I should have made it look?

Code:
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    127.0.1.1       obnoxium
    192.168.0.100   obnoxium
    obnoxium        obnoxium

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix