Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have a site that i have registered recently, when i open the website "http://www.example.com" i got a popup says download file! however; if i type "http://example.com" without (www) the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    tec
    tec is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    with (www) on url i get download file!


    I have a site that i have registered recently, when i open the website "http://www.example.com" i got a popup says download file! however; if i type "http://example.com" without (www) the site loads correctly.

    Could it be a cache problem?

    Examples:

    typing this loads the page correctly
    http://www.site.com/index.php
    http://site.com/

    However; doing this:
    http://www.site.com/

    i get a request to download the file which contains the code of my index.php file.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    The name server is configured incorrectly. Do you
    control it yourself or does someone else?

  3. #3
    tec
    tec is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    The name server is configured incorrectly. Do you
    control it yourself or does someone else?
    I do control it

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Are you running bind? If so, could you
    post the configuration files?

  5. #5
    tec
    tec is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    Are you running bind? If so, could you
    post the configuration files?
    Sorry rcgreen but am not expert in this, but did you mean /etc/named.conf?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Yes, and named.conf will reference some other
    files that contain zone information.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •