Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a Linux and Internet newbie. However, We are looking for the ability to remotely monitor and control some equipment. How can I create a web based GUI on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Embedded Linux, Apache, Internet base control - HOW?

I am a Linux and Internet newbie. However, We are looking for the ability to remotely monitor and control some equipment.

How can I create a web based GUI on an embedded Linux system, running Apache server 2.0. The GUI must be able to control and monitor the equipment.

So far I think I need Web Services, so I have been searching for this. I have also seen some information on XML based GUIs that gave me the impression Web Services are not needed, only a Web server is.

I am begining to feel lost again, any advice is wellcome.

Thanks,
    Charles

not sure about the embedded part, but webmin is a great remote control web interface, if its across public networks make sure you force ssl

Ah Embedded Linux ^^
    one of the greatest ways for Low-Use Servers..
    It depents what you want.
    If I were you Id take a look into that what jledhead said. webmin..
    And, maybe you should checkout phpmyadmin. You might know this already.
    Its really great for mysqls..
    If your Embadded device is a Gumstix you might want to ask this on there mailing list. Since what I understand is that that is a "unnormal" distro.
    Well, have fun ^^
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Just Joined!

Smile

Thanks a lot for the info, I will start reading about it, now.

My big conscern is if webmin can provide a GUI that provides standard components displayed in a web browser. The components should include the usual stuff like: Buttons, Check boxes, radio Buttons, text boxes, combo boxes, and the ability to activate Linux commands/applications (e.g., file processing).