Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am very new to Linux. We had an Exchange server running for our mail for years and it recently crashed. Rather than rebuild it we decided to switch to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to set up mail server - help!

I am very new to Linux. We had an Exchange server running for our mail for years and it recently crashed. Rather than rebuild it we decided to switch to Linux. So far, however, we haven't gotten things working.

I am using Fedora Core 5, Sendmail, dovecot, and eventually squirrelmail. I've been using Webmin to administer things because frankly I don't have much of a clue when it comes to the command line yet.

We got Sendmail configured correctly, so we're able to receive mail and send mail. Using Webmin I can look at the user mailboxes and see that mail has come in, and I can reply to mails and they go out fine.

The problem is with dovecot. I've been fiddling with the config for weeks and finally got it to load, but I can't log into it with a mail client to receive mail. I'm using pop3 right now because I use Outlook Express and Thunderbird mail clients. The error I get is that my authentication failed, so I'm assuming something is wrong somewhere with the password file? I went to the dovecot web site and tried their default config, but get the same error.

Any ideas?

Just Joined!
    Have you thought about any of the following?

Qmail Toaster RPMS for RedHat, Fedora Core, CentOS, Mandriva, Mandrake and SuSE
    Pegasus Mail < not a linux mail server
    Scalix: Linux Email, Calendaring and Messaging Platform
    Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac

We used pmail then qmail for a bit they both worked well. Right now our mail server is tied in with our web server with ISPConfig and I am looking at Scalix vs Exchange vs Zimbra. We want to start using calendars or we wouldn't be upgrading.