Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all! Name's Matt. I'm a newb to Linux, but have always had an interest in it. Well, this term at tech school, I started my Linux Cert. course and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newb looking to get an HTTP and FTP server up and running...

Hi all! Name's Matt. I'm a newb to Linux, but have always had an interest in it. Well, this term at tech school, I started my Linux Cert. course and I think I'm ready to try out the Penguin....

Just a little history on me. Been working with Windows since 3.11. I'm fairly efficient with DOS 6.2, have a decent Novell understanding, and am soon taking my A+, Net+, and NT certs.

I got my hands on a decent spec'd box from my future in-laws, PII, 512 PC 800, 20G ATA, yata, yata, yata.... I'm looking to set up a small http and ftp server here in the house. Nothing to large or demanding, just something to keep up and running and to play with, and since the family doens't know anything other then XP, that's what staying on my main machine. So rather then dual boot, I figured I'd install on the new box and set up my server.

To cut to the chase, I was wondering if any of you pros have any tips for a newcomer. You know, the usual. What disto? Server Apps? Etc.

I was leaning towards Mandrake or SuSe, not quite sure which, and was going to research server apps sometime between school full time and working 40 hours/week

Any help I could get would be great! Thanks for your time! Cheers!

Linux User
    For an HTTP server, I recommend apache http://httpd.apache.org/

I've heard SuSe, Mandrake, and Redhat are the most 'newbie'-friendly distro's. I used Redhat (maybe verson 6) and at that time it was easier than other distros I tried. (debian/slackware) Either one will probably be fine. The main differences will be installing, packages included, and the package manager.

Here's a couple tips