Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to linux and have been reading a lot of the articles and threads on this site for the last month and still feel a bit uncomftorable using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation E-commerce Server Security

I am new to linux and have been reading a lot of the articles and threads on this site for the last month and still feel a bit uncomftorable using linux without a GUI. Now I will most likely hire someone to help me with this to make sure it is done right in the first place but I am pretty good with computers and would like to learn as much as I can on my own. So for a bit your opinions please.

I am setting up an ecommerce site for my business and want to house the server in my office instead of using a hosting service. I want to keep costs down and I hear Linux/Unix is the best security match up for Apache.

What sort of security do I need for my ecommerce site?

Do I need a proxy, or can I use a normal router?
    Will the Certificates be enough to protect the site? (eg. Verisign, hackersafe)
    What is the most secure Linux Distro?

I was thinking of doing the site in PHP/MySQL or C Sharp. I want to make use of forums and blogs within the site as well so I am leaning more towards PHP but I heard it is also easier to hack.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Thank you.

PHP is better then C#.
    C# is really unusefull. Its a MS language.
    I dont think you can run that in linux.

Anyhow, well Linux is secure as it is.
    you might want to use Debian. And if you really need a GUI install kdrive + OpenBox..

Well, If you want this box to be secure you have to do the following things:
    - Install Iptables and make Cleaver Rules
    - Install HIDS and Monitor it
    - Install rkhunter as Cron
    - Install NIDS if more people use the same network
    - Use OpenSSL.
    - Log all the Traffic, going in and out and scan ever now and then.