Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Dear Users, I have ZOLTRIX COBRA LITE modem , but its not working on linux. Its detect on Linux but not dialing. How can i configure modem for dialing internet....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    karachi
    Posts
    45

    MODEM Problem


    Dear Users,

    I have ZOLTRIX COBRA LITE modem , but its not working on linux.
    Its detect on Linux but not dialing.

    How can i configure modem for dialing internet.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    what program do you use to connect to the internet?that would help more ...
    Linux For Ever!

  3. #3
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    that, and what distro are you running?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    karachi
    Posts
    45
    I m using RedHat linux 8.0

    For dialing i m using GNOME

  5. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    2 things
    A) i recommend updating your distro, RH8 is one of the weakest redhats (you should consider moving to fedora core, the new opensource branch of redhat)
    B) to me it sounds like you need a driver for the modem, and then a dialing program, but i could be very off as i have never dialed a connection with linux.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    maybe you should check the modem's terminal commands.some of them may not be needed...
    Linux For Ever!

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    i forgot!do you run the program for dialing as root?
    post if any error messages in /var/log/messages...
    Linux For Ever!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •