Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi frens of the forum,I am a system administrator newly appointed to maintain a UBUNTU Server which is used for a continous research in our university and till date every ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu Server Making Continous Beep Sound...(urgent Pls Help)...

Hi frens of the forum,I am a system administrator newly appointed to maintain a UBUNTU Server which is used for a continous research in our university and till date every thing went well but suddenly since 2 days it is making a loud continous beep sound and i tried restarting the server and configured the drives the sound stopped and after a couple of hours it started again and the whole hard disk in the server is divided into 2 parts and both the drives are shared and when i face this beep sound problem one of the drives is completely functional and the other is not accesible.....
    pls pls ..kindly tell me a possible reason and a solution for my problem...

oz
    forum.guy
    It sounds like it might be an alarm. If your CPU is overheating, it could be an alarm warning you of the problem. Check your CPU temp and make sure it's operating with the proper range. Check all fans inside case to make certain they are working and air flow isn't hindered in some way.

Faulty memory modules can cause continuous beeps. Do some memory tests to see if there are problems there. Maybe substitute some known good RAM modules for the possibly faulty ones. Make sure all the modules are properly seated. Remove some modules if possible to see if the beeping stops.

It's possibly a faulty motherboard.

Keyboards can sometimes cause continuous beeping. Substitute a known good keyboard to see if the beeping stops.

Is the beep coming from a speaker, or from within the computer case?
    oz

Just Joined!

thnx a lot..